Effutu Municipal Assembly - Winneba

Schools and Learning


The Municipality is made up of three circuits for the purposes of education management. There is a total of 247 educational institutions in the Municipality; of which 74 (30%) are public institutions and 173 (70%) are private institutions.
The Municipality has 78 pre-schools (24 public and 54 private), 77 Primary Schools (26 Public and 51 Private) and 47 Junior High Schools (22 Public and 25 Private). The Winneba Senior High School is the only public second cycle institution. There are three (3) private Senior High Schools and two (2) Technical and Vocational Institutions in the Municipality.

There is one major tertiary institution; the University of Education, Winneba which has its main campus in Winneba with Campuses at Kumasi, Mampong and Ajumako. The Perez University formerly the Pan African University though located in the Gomoa East Municipality (i.e. Pomadze), its impact is more felt in the Municipality. There is also the National Sports College of Winneba where sports personnel (Football, Sportsmen and Women) receive advanced training in their specialized fields and disciplines. In addition, there is the Police Staff and Command College.

Other Specialized Institutions include the hearing-Impaired School – University Practice (UNIPRA) South School and Fr. John Mentally Derailed School under the Don Bosco Girls Primary School.

The basic schools in the Municipality, like several others in the Central Region, face problems of inadequate facilities such as furniture, electricity and toilet facilities. There are also inadequate supply of textbooks and other teaching aids. Most of the schools are without libraries and ICT facilities.

Comments are closed.